Memoirs of an OAU female fresher – The finale

By Folarin Ayomide

new-writer

Episode 10.

And finally, it’s the last episode. Thank you being with me on the journey so far. I hope you enjoy this too. 😎😎
After the excitement of being in university wore out,, certain feelings crept in and this happens to every fresher –
Loneliness :- whether you admit it or not, you will miss your parents and siblings,, no need to form big boy/girl, it’s normal. No mama to cook for you or nag you into doing chores. Just go with the flow.
Stress :- oh you are going to be stressed I can assure you 😀 😀,, if Registration does not stress you, lectures will. Learn to pace yourself.
Manage your money- I repeat manage your money,,, i know it’s a first been alone and you want to buy anything, eat anything,, but I tell you, manage your money,, learn to wash your own clothes,cook for your self, and never, I repeat never buy your books from the school bookshop. 👇👇👇👇👇👇. They will ruin you.
Never miss an assignment – don’t do this more than once as your lecturers will probably not like it😉😉.. I know you will get busy, from adjusting to Uni life, meeting new friends to attending parties,,never miss your assignments.
Getting annoyed with your roomies :- when the honeymoon phase of freshers’ week wears off, you will start getting annoyed with little things,. In my own case, I had roommates who would always use other people’s cutlery, I came to Moz with a dozen matching spoons, by 2nd semester, I couldn’t even find any of my original spoon,, I left Moz, spoon less.
The ‘Cook for me’ syndrome :- when you want to cook, there’s usually a conversation that happens, it goes thus.
“what do you want to cook? ”
Me- Food
” enh, I know, what kind of food? ”
Me- anhanh, how does it concern you?”
“so because of food, you are vexing ”
Me-” no I’m not”
“sha cook for us o”
You have no choice after this.

Aro –
To do Aro means to be sarcastic, for lack of better definition,, Awo boys help me out here.
What aro means to you depends on your acceptance or non-acceptance. To some it’s annoying, to some embarrassing, to some it’s just fun,i belong to this 3rd category.
I made lots of friends on top this aro matter.
My experiences :
Coming from bank area with a friend, we decided to walk, so we went through Fajuyi Hall, passed the shortcut to Awo Hall all because we did not want to pass long journey oo,. We entered Awo, just a few steps inside and my friend almost turned back, cos of the shouts,,
” Sister Risi, welcome, I’m the one you’re looking for ”
” Sister in the Lord, welcome ”
” Fine girl, how far, come and greet me”
Now, people say the secret is not to talk back, I tried it and I decided talking back would be more fun
So I talk back. And that’s way more fun.
So the shouts continued from all sides
” oloso, how far na,”
Me- na your mama be oloso.
“ah, this one is sharp tongued o,,, see as she look like after 3,how many you don born”
Me- “na 20,, and na you be dia papa, goat”
” Iya mulika,,
Me- “Baba Suraju ???”
All the while, my friend did not say a word and me I was having fun.
We sha successful waded through the ocean of Awo Hall….

The End.

Not to be cont’d.. 😀 😀 😀 😀

*We believe it’s been an edutaining tale so far…
…thank you for following till the end

And stay CoNnected for more from the House of CoNnect.

Folarin Ayomide is a student of Obafemi Awolowo University, English language department.

Let’s CoNnect you with Ayomide now!

For your creativity showcasing request, book our artists/make a contract or have enquiries

CoNnect us:
connectmediafirm@gmail.com
+234 8130962580

IG: @cnmediah

©2016
CoNnect Media House

Leave a Reply

